Who is Hong Kong’s All-time Best Player at the Hong Kong Sevens?

02 February 2015

As part of its celebration of 40 years of Sevens at the upcoming 2015 Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens, the Hong Kong Rugby Football Union (HKRFU) has launched a campaign for the public to identify the top Hong Kong player to have played in the Sevens since its inception in 1976.

After an initial canvassing period last month via the HKRFU's official Facebook page www.facebook.com/hkrugby a shortlist of seven candidates has been identified, based on their popularity and accomplishments.

To allow fans every chance to make their voices heard, a write-in candidate option is also provided in the final poll, which is now live at https://epoll.me/vote/ACaQIZ5i4as/who-was-the-best-player-to-represent-hong-kong-at-sevens-over-the-past-40-years.

The seven candidates selected in early polling are:




Chris Wynne-Potts

1979, 81, 82, 90

Represented Hong Kong across three decades. Member of the Plate-winning Hong Kong squad in 1990.

Ian Strange


A deadly finisher who was an ever-present face in the Hong Kong team. Also captained the squad. Member of two Plate-winning teams (1990, 92) and Bowl-winning side in 1987.

Chan Fuk-ping


First local player to represent Hong Kong at the Sevens and the Rugby World Cup Sevens. Also the first Hong Kong player to feature on a postage stamp. Won Bowls in 1999 and 2001.

Paul Dingley


Led Hong Kong superbly on and off the pitch as both a rangy forward and captain of the squad. Won Bowls in 1999 and 2001.

Ricky Cheuk, Ming-yin

2001 - 2008

First local player to score a try in the Rugby World Cup Sevens (2001). Bowl winner in 2001.

Rowan Varty

2005 - present

Hong Kong's most capped sevens player. A prolific try scorer who has also represented the Penguins and the Barbarians. Member of the Shield winning squad in 2010.

Keith Robertson

2007 - present

Superb all-around sportsman with sublime skills, a true "X-factor" player. Member of the Shield winning squad in 2010.

Other players receiving honourable mentions in the canvassing stage include Salom Yiu Kam-shing, Stuart Krohn, David Bulbeck, Norrie Rae, Andrew Chambers, Gary Cross, Kris Marin and Tom McQueen.

Rugby fans are invited to vote for their top player from the final selected seven until Friday 20 March 2015.

The final poll results will be submitted to an expert panel comprised of former Hong Kong internationals to determine the final winner.

The winner will be announced during the HKRFU's commemorative gala, the 40 Years of the Sevens Celebration Dinner on Wednesday 25 March at the Kai Tak Cruise Terminal.

Several star players from the past four decades of the world-renowned Hong Kong Sevens will attend the dinner, which will look back at the achievements and amazing growth of the Sevens since the first tournament in 1976.

Sevens fans are invited to show their support for their favourite player on the list by voting at https://epoll.me/vote/ACaQIZ5i4as/who-was-the-best-player-to-represent-hong-kong-at-sevens-over-the-past-40-years.