Ticket ballot opens

2020 Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens ticket ballot opens

16 November 2019

The Hong Kong Rugby Union (HKRU) has announced the opening of the public ballot for Hong Kong residents to access general admission tickets to the 2020 Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens.

The public ballot was officially opened on Friday, November 15, at the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens Long Lunch, which raises funds for the event’s Official Charity Partner Laureus Sport for Good. The HKRU has raised over $2 million for Laureus since the partnership’s inception in 2018.

Tickets for the 2020 tournament, which is the 45th edition, remain at HK$1,950 for a full three-day pass, with single day ticket prices for the Friday HK$350 and the Saturday and Sunday both priced at HK$800.

Speaking at the Long Lunch, newly-elected HKRU Chairman Patrick Donovan said: “Next year marks the 45th edition of the Hong Kong Sevens and we are busy working together with everyone involved to ensure we deliver another fantastic event on and off the pitch.

“Every year we seek to introduce new initiatives to freshen up the fan experience, and 2020 will be a milestone as we welcome the best women’s Sevens teams in the world to our tournament as Hong Kong takes its place on the HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series.

“Alongside the men’s Series competition and Series qualifier competitions, that adds up to three full days of fantastic rugby to enjoy.

“The opening of the public ballot is always an important marker in the countdown to the tournament, and I can assure everyone that we are fully committed to putting on another great event.”

Sevens public ticket ballot details

The registration period for the ballot opened on 11.59pm Friday, 15 November 2019 and will close on 11.59pm Sunday, 9 February 2020.  

The ballot process follows an exclusive sales period for members of the local rugby community, in keeping with the HKRU’s policy of prioritising its participating members for access to Hong Kong’s flagship rugby tournament.

Interested spectators can register for the ballot via the Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens website at http://hksevens.com/tickets/ba...

Enquiries about the public ballot should be made via email to [email protected]

Once the registration period is complete, a distinct and separate draw will be held for each day of the tournament. Those draws will be held following the closing of the ballot on Monday, 10 February 2020, with the winners to be notified electronically.

9,000 individual tickets are available in the ballot and applicants have the choice to apply for a maximum of two adult tickets for each of the three days of the event.

Applicants must be Hong Kong Residents in possession of a Hong Kong Identity Card and aged 18 or above on the day which they submit their application.

In a change to the process this year, those entering the ballot will be required to submit credit card details and, if they win, will automatically be charged for the requested tickets they were successfully allocated following the ballot draw. This will display as a payment from ‘Ticketflap’.  Those unsuccessful in the ballot will not be charged.

Tickets purchased via the ballot are HK$350 for Friday, and HK$800 for Saturday and Sunday. An administration fee of HK$50 will be charged for each ticket purchased.

In an effort to ensure the widest possible distribution of tickets, the HKRU has confirmed that once again no children’s concession tickets will be sold via the public ballot.

Ballot applicants can apply to attend any individual day or all three days of the event and may be successful across multiple entries for access on multiple days. Each applicant is allowed only one ballot entry per event day.

All interested spectators are reminded that only tickets sold through the official online ticketing agencies, HKRU member clubs or the public ballot are guaranteed to be genuine. Anyone purchasing tickets from non-official channels should be aware that doing so leaves them at risk.

The 2020 Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens will be held from 3-5 April 2020 at Hong Kong Stadium.