Dates announced for 2016 Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens

30 June, 2015


2016 UPDATE: See Tournament Live Fixtures and Results Now

2016 UPDATE: See Tournament Live Fixtures and Results Now

World Rugby announced new locations and dates for the 2015/16 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series today in Paris.Hong Kong will again play a pivotal role on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series schedule which has been expanded to ten locations for the upcoming season.

The 2016 Cathay Pacific/HSBC Hong Kong Sevens will be the seventh round on the global circuit and will be played on the weekend of 8-10 April 2016.

New destinations on the Series include Sydney, Australia; Cape Town, South Africa; Vancouver, Canada and Singapore.The inaugural Singapore Sevens will be held the week following the Hong Kong tournament (16-17 April).

With rugby sevens achieving year-on year record attendance, viewership and engagement figures, and excitement building ahead of its Olympic Games debut at Rio 2016, World Rugby has also announced a four-year extension of its hugely-successful partnership with HSBC.

The record deal sees the banking giant extend its hugely-successful naming rights of the World Rugby Sevens Series and acquire naming rights to the Women's World Rugby Sevens Series.

World Rugby Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: "Rugby sevens is going from strength to strength ahead of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games and the men's and women's series have been at the heart of the global sevens success story with their winning brand of high-octane, competitive and broadcast- friendly action, global locations and festival atmosphere."

"HSBC has been central to the sevens success story and is totally aligned with our mission to attract and inspire new players and audiences. We are excited about this increased commitment and the opportunity we have over the next four years to grow our sport within existing and emerging rugby markets."

Giles Morgan, Global Head of Sponsorship & Events, HSBC Holdings said: "HSBC became the first ever title of the men's World Series back in 2010, and we are excited to not only be extending this partnership for another four years, but also to become the first ever title sponsor of the increasingly popular women's World Series. The Olympic decision has served as a tremendous catalyst for the growth of Sevens around the world, not just in participation but also through the popularity of the HSBC Sevens World Series in recent years."

"HSBC is committed to not only supporting the elite end of the sport during this historic period in the game's growth, but will also continue with our long term, significant investment in helping to grow and develop rugby through our community programmes which have seen over 200,000 youngsters around the world introduced to the sport. HSBC Rugby Festivals and Coach Education programmes, as well as grassroots sponsorships such as the Rosslyn Park National Schools Sevens in England, have all helped to inspire even more children to get involved with rugby. We will continue to use the profile and interest in the World Series to help engage even more youngsters to the game over the coming years, and are excited by the addition of the women's Series to our portfolio given the interest that women's rugby is attracting around the world."

The 2015-16 Series will kick-off after Rugby World Cup 2015 enabling the best fifteens players to participate across the whole Series ahead of rugby sevens Olympic Games debut.

2015/16 HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series schedule

Round 1: Dubai: 3-4 December
Round 2: Cape Town: 12-13 December
Round 3: Wellington: 30 – 31 January
Round 4: Sydney: 6-7 February
Round 5: Las Vegas: 4, 5, 6 March
Round 6: Vancouver: 12-13 March
Round 7: Hong Kong: 8-9-10 April
Round 8: Singapore: 16-17 April
Round 9: Paris: 14-15 May
Round 10: London: 20-22 May *TBC

Details of the locations and dates for the 2015/16 HSBC Women's World Rugby Sevens Series will be announced shortly.