World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series Qualifier 2019

World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series Qualifier 2019

Tournament Details

Date : Thursday, 4th April, 2019
Venue : So Kon Po Recreation Ground (FREE ENTRY)  
Time : 10am – 5.20pm

Date : Friday, 5th April, 2019
Venue : Hong Kong Stadium (Gates open at 7.30am)
Event :  Women's matches kick off at 10.30am

Match Schedule - Click HERE

The competition continues to go from strength to strength and this year Hong Kong will host 11 international sides in the tournament that draws teams from each World Rugby region. Nine of last year’s competitors are returning, promising even more thrills than 2018’s dramatic competition where China emerged victorious. With China on the Women’s Series this year, the field is wide open.

The winner of the World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series Qualifier will be promoted to next season’s HSBC World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series, replacing the bottom-placed team at the completion of the current season.


The 12 teams who participating this year were:

  • Uganda (AFRICA)
  • Kenya (AFRICA)
  • Kazakhstan (ASIA)
  • Hong Kong (ASIA)
  • Japan (ASIA)
  • Scotland (EUROPE)
  • Belgium (EUROPE)
  • Poland (EUROPE)
  • Papua New Guinea (OCEANIA)
  • Argentina  (AMERICAS SOUTH)